Off the Hook by Laura Drewry

Posted April 19, 2016 by Kate in Blog Tour, Excerpt, Giveaway, Liked It, Review / 1 Comment

Off the Hook by Laura DrewryOff the Hook by Laura Drewry
Series: Fishing for Trouble #1
Format: eARC
Published by Loveswept Source: Netgalley
Genres: Alpha Guy, Contemporary Romance, Romance, Second Chances, Sports
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Welcome to The Buoys, a West Coast haven where love comes in with the tide. Perfect for readers of Jill Shalvis and Susan Mallery, the Fishing for Trouble series features three unforgettable brothers—each of whom is a great catch.

Major league pitcher Liam O'Donnell knows his best days are probably behind him, but that doesn't mean he's ready to retire and become a fishing guide. Still, after all the time he's spent chasing his dreams, he owes it to his brothers to pull his weight around the lodge. The Buoys is their father's legacy, and they can't let some developer take it from them. The one snag Liam isn't counting on is a blast from the past: his ex-wife.

The moment Kate Hadley steps out of the seaplane, she knows this assignment is going to be trickier than she thought. She has to persuade the owners to sell—and one of them is Liam O'Donnell. Ten years ago, she made the biggest mistake of her life when she married Liam during a fling in Vegas. Now he's her only lifeline in the middle of nowhere. Kate's trying to keep things cool, but Liam just reminds her of the scorching few nights they spent together—and tempts her to make new memories that are just as steamy as the old.

 photo synopsisgraphic.pngI know Laura Drewry’s work, so even though I am a big hater of fishing (don’t even eat seafood of any kind), I figured I would it a go because I like her writing style. I was once again impressed with her writing style, she has great flow when it comes to how she writes her books, and a plot that really took me along for an enjoyable couple of hours. Plus I happen to be one of those readers who absolutely love seeing people who used to be married be forced back into situations where they are together, gotta love watching the sparks fly, both in drama and in chemistry.

So when the book starts, we meet our lovely heroine, Kate, who I seriously adore. Kate is everything I want to be when I grow up, she is hard working, not afraid to get her hands dirty, she’s responsible with her cash, and in spite of all the setbacks she’s had in her life, her ambition has not faltered. She goes for what she wants. And part of being able to move up the food chain and the company she works for means going to spend weeks at a run down resort fixing it up in hopes that her company gets to buy the place. Of course she never expected to see her ex-husband there after so many years, hell she never even saw him when they were getting divorced let alone talked to him, so why expect to see him again at all. What I loved about her is how she takes it in stride, she doesn’t back down, she doesn’t cower, she just rolls up sleeves and gets to work. I also loved how she was so torn about whether or not she wanted her boss to actually get the property, I mean she really bonded with the O’Donnell family and wanted them to be able to keep their family legacy. She handled herself so well throughout the entirety of the book.

Now as for Liam, he’s interesting to me. He’s a pitcher who is coming to the end of his MLB career, but it kind of seems like everyone else knows it but him. I have to say, as a lifelong lover of baseball, I was pretty impressed with how Laura wrote this character, I get the feeling she has seen a few baseball games over the years. He’s a good brother, you can tell how much he loves them, but he’s plagued by his childhood. He didn’t have it easy after his mom bailed, and his dad was well, what’s the pc way of saying drunk, violent jerk? Either way the guy has some hang ups, especially about women. I feel like Liam had the most evolution throughout the book, and it was definitely growth he needed, without doubt. I liked watching him grow throughout the book, and really kind of figure out what life is really about and what matters.

Liam and Kate had great chemistry, and while I was expecting maybe more hostility because they were exes, the fact is they never hated each other. That’s not to say there aren’t some good arguments in her, after all Liam does have brothers. But there is a lot of sweet scenes, some great hot and heavy scenes, and some that really kind of tugged on my heartstrings. All in all this was a great read for me, I really enjoyed it. I can’t wait to see where the series goes from here.
 photo synopsisgraphic.png

a Rafflecopter giveaway

They were almost to her cabin when she shocked the hell out of him by slipping her hand under his arm and nudging his shoulder with hers.

“You’re still a hotshot pitcher, you know. Don’t talk about that in the past tense.”

Liam blinked hard, then leaned in and pressed a slow kiss against her cheek. Half an inch, that’s how close he was to those soft, warm lips he remembered all too well, but no matter how much he ached to taste them again, he forced himself to pull back and smile down at her.

Besides his agent—who didn’t count, because Liam paid him to say it—Kate was the first and only one to even suggest he might have something left, and if she’d said it any other time or any other way, he might not have believed she was sincere.

But looking at her now, with her foot up on the porch, ready to go inside, there wasn’t the slightest trace of doubt in her eyes, just those damn bits of amber flickering like little beacons.

“I, uh . . .” Blowing out a hard breath, Liam shoved both hands through his hair, locked his fingers together, and took a step back. “I better go. It’d really screw things up here if we woke up married tomorrow.”

“Right. Good thinking,” she said, her mouth curling into a slow, knowing smile. “’Cause I promise you this, I won’t be nearly as nice the next time you divorce me.”

About Laura Drewry

Laura had been scribbling things for years before she decided to seriously sit down and write. It helped that she and her husband had just moved 700 km away from their families, it was the dead of winter and she was about 49 months pregnant with their second child, all of which gave her the excuse she needed to hunker down and get at it.
After spending eight years in the Canadian north, Laura now lives back home in southwestern British Columbia with her husband, three sons, a turtle named Sheldon and an extremely energetic German Shepherd. She loves old tattered books, good movies, country music and the Yankees.

One response to “Off the Hook by Laura Drewry

  1. Hi Kate – thank you so much for being part of the OFF THE HOOK blog tour this week and for the review! I’m very glad you enjoyed Kate and Liam’s story. 🙂

    Cheers!
    Laura

Leave a Reply

AlphaOmega Captcha Classica  –  Enter Security Code