Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish

Posted August 22, 2015 by Kate in Liked It, Review / 0 Comments

Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi CharishOwl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish
Series: The Adventures of Owl #1
Format: eARC
Published by Simon and Schuster Source: Netgalley
Genres: Animals, Fantasy, Friendship, Mystery, Paranormal, Revenge, Romance, Thrillers, Urban Fantasy
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

Fans of Kim Harrison, Jim Butcher, and Linda Hamilton will flock to the kick-ass world of Owl, a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world.

Ex-archaeology grad student turned international antiquities thief, Alix—better known now as Owl—has one rule. No supernatural jobs. Ever. Until she crosses paths with Mr. Kurosawa, a red dragon who owns and runs the Japanese Circus Casino in Las Vegas. He insists Owl retrieve an artifact stolen three thousand years ago, and makes her an offer she can’t refuse: he’ll get rid of a pack of vampires that want her dead. A dragon is about the only entity on the planet that can deliver on Owl’s vampire problem – and let’s face it, dragons are known to eat the odd thief.

Owl retraces the steps of Mr. Kurosawa’s ancient thief from Japan to Bali with the help of her best friend, Nadya, and an attractive mercenary. As it turns out though, finding the scroll is the least of her worries. When she figures out one of Mr. Kurosawa’s trusted advisors is orchestrating a plan to use a weapon powerful enough to wipe out a city, things go to hell in a hand basket fast…and Owl has to pick sides.

 photo synopsisgraphic.png

So I’ve had this book in my pile for a while, and I wanted to read it way back when I first picked it up, but then life got in the way and I forgot about it. I am so glad that I found it and gave it a go. So truth be told, I have never seen an Indiana Jones movie, but I love the idea of archeology (I was after all a history major for a while). But the idea of a disgraced archeology student turned thief just sounds like a lot of fun, especially when you add in the supernatural as well.

So urban fantasy is really my first love, and I seriously enjoyed this one. One of my favorite things about the UF genre is the world building. And I have to say I love the way this book wove in the world building with the story, it didn’t feel like any one part of the book was heavy with too much information, it was more like finding out really interesting facts about the world while being in the middle of some really exciting situations.

So one of the things that I both liked and found a tad bit annoying sometime is how clueless Owl sometimes seemed to be. I mean she is a really intelligent woman, she knows way more about history they I do that’s for sure, but when it comes to supernatural things, she is wildly unprepared (heck, even when she is prepared she still comes out somehow being surprised and in some pretty serious situations). She just seems to be supernaturally challenged, and I can’t help but wonder if she is so clueless by choice, I mean her interactions with the supernaturals never seem to go well, I can understand wanting to bury her head in the sand.

What’s great about Owl though is that she has some great people around her. I loved her friend Nadya, who really forces Owl to consider things outside her normal habits. Nadya is without a doubt a good friend to have in your corner. And Rynn. Ah Rynn, can’t talk about this book without talking about him. He is kind of a bit of a mystery at the beginning of the book, but from the beginning I had a good feeling about this guy. I love how he interacts with Owl, and they have pretty good chemistry. I also really liked how he contributed so much to the story without overwhelming it.

So now for the plot line. I love Owl having a mystery villain after her, and I love the idea of the Vegas based Dragon, and the “Dragon Lady” who sits at his side. The supernaturals in this book are so vivid and so complex, they just made reading about them all the more interesting. I also really liked how the journey of getting the job from the Dragon to finding the artifact he was looking for played out, the writing was really good and I was able to follow along with ease and get caught up in the book.

At the end of the day, I am looking forward to the next book in the series. This book is a little bit on the longer side (or it least it was for me), but it was totally worth the time. I enjoyed it from beginning to end. I recommend this book to anyone looking for an urban fantasy book.

 photo synopsisgraphic.png

About Kristi Charish

Kristi is the author of a forthcoming urban fantasy series OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS (Jan 13th, 2015, Simon and Schuster Canada/Pocket Books), about a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. She writes what she loves; adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists, pop culture, and the occasional RPG fantasy game thrown in the mix. The second installment, OWL AND THE CITY OF ANGELS, is scheduled for release Jan 2016.
Kristi is also a scientist with a BSc and MSc from Simon Fraser University in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry and a PhD in Zoology from the University of British Columbia. Her specialties are genetics, cell biology, and molecular biology, all of which she draws upon in her writing. She is represented by Carolyn Forde at Westwood Creative Artists.

About Kristi Charish

Kristi is the author of a forthcoming urban fantasy series OWL AND THE JAPANESE CIRCUS (Jan 13th, 2015, Simon and Schuster Canada/Pocket Books), about a modern-day “Indiana Jane” who reluctantly navigates the hidden supernatural world. She writes what she loves; adventure heavy stories featuring strong, savvy female protagonists, pop culture, and the occasional RPG fantasy game thrown in the mix. The second installment, OWL AND THE CITY OF ANGELS, is scheduled for release Jan 2016.
Kristi is also a scientist with a BSc and MSc from Simon Fraser University in Molecular Biology and Biochemistry and a PhD in Zoology from the University of British Columbia. Her specialties are genetics, cell biology, and molecular biology, all of which she draws upon in her writing. She is represented by Carolyn Forde at Westwood Creative Artists.

Leave a Reply

AlphaOmega Captcha Classica  –  Enter Security Code