Once Perfect by Cecy Robson

Posted January 14, 2015 by Kate in Just Okay, Review / 0 Comments

Once Perfect by Cecy RobsonOnce Perfect by Cecy Robson
Series: Shattered Past #1
Format: eARC
Published by Random House LLC Source: Netgalley
Genres: Alpha Guy, Coming of Age, Contemporary Romance, New Adult, Romance, Young Adult
Buy on Amazon
Goodreads

His life was never easy. Hers wasn’t supposed to be this hard. They come from different worlds, but fate lures them together in a way neither expected in Cecy Robson’s raw, steamy New Adult debut—perfect for fans of Monica Murphy and J. Lynn.

Evelyn Preston’s future once looked perfect—until her wealthy father was caught in an embezzlement scandal and took his own life. Alone and struggling to pay her college tuition and bills, Evelyn finds a job as a waitress at the ultra-hip nightclub Excess, where she used to have more in common with the privileged private-school clientele than her fellow staff members. But something attracts her to the sexy six-foot-four bouncer and underground MMA fighter Mateo Tres Santos. Although they’ve led different lives, their troubled pasts bonds them in both survival and love.

Mateo is ex-army who wound up in prison for assaulting the man who harmed his sister. Now he’s feeling the same protective impulse for this petite blond waitress. When Evelyn experiences a panic attack at the club, Mateo comes to her rescue. And when Mateo is wounded shielding her from a brawl, Evelyn returns the favor and comes to his aid.

As their attraction intensifies, Mateo is determined to find out what nightmares are lurking in Evelyn’s past—even if that means tackling his own to save her.

So when I saw this book I was sold, mainly because I know Cecy Robson from her Urban Fantasy series, Weird Girls, which I really like (great writing, check it out). I really wanted to like this book, like really wanted too, but it just never happened. I wish I could explain why it didn’t work for me, but I just never made a connection with the characters, and I hate to admit this but I started tuning out a couple of times while I was reading the book.

This book does have some harder issues in it, but that didn’t play at all into why I didn’t like the book. Evie and Mateo’s romance, well, it just didn’t feel romantic. I mean these are two young people, who are suppose to be, I don’t know, flirty, or attracted to each other, I don’t know I was just waiting for sizzle. But it didn’t happen for me. Honestly, the dialogue between Mateo and Evie, well, it sometimes felt like Mateo was talking to her like an older brother would, or a parent. I mean it just didn’t feel like two people who were interested in each other.

Also I didn’t really feel the sizzle even when we got to the sexy time scenes. They felt like it was a clinical description of what was happening. I mean more than that though, they read kind of like a public service announcement on safe sex and not a romantic interlude. Yes I know safe sex is important, I get it, but that doesn’t mean that sex should come across as boring, and this is how it came across to me.

I wish I could have liked this book a lot more than I did. Maybe I am just not the right audience for the book, I feel like even though it’s a new adult book, it bordered almost to that line right between new adult and YA. There is without a doubt an audience for this book, I just don’t think I am it.

 photo synopsisgraphic.png

About Cecy Robson

Cecy Robson is a new adult and contemporary author of the Shattered Past series, the O’Brien Family novels and upcoming Carolina Beach novels, as well as the award-winning author of the Weird Girls urban fantasy romance series. A 2016 double nominated RITA®finalist for Once Pure and Once Kissed, Cecy is a recovering Jersey girl living in the South who enjoys carbs way too much, and exercise way too little. Gifted and cursed with an overactive imagination, you can typically find her on her laptop silencing the yappy characters in her head by telling their stories.

Leave a Reply

AlphaOmega Captcha Classica  –  Enter Security Code